Jordan Is Lame

Site Devlog

Back to Home

Wowie. Would you look at this?

October 20th, 2022: Bought the JordanIsLame.com domain from Dreamhost, but looked into what altenatives to Geocities there were (it died in 2009) since I liked the creativity, personal expression, and chaos of such sites. I found Neocities.

October 21st, 2022: Took the first 3 courses of freeCodeCamp's guide to web development that focus on HTML/CSS. Not sure if I learned that much but there were like 200 steps to pass. Also started using Sadgrl's HTML/CSS template builder which is free and you can use it for NeoCities. It builds a main body and an optional sidebar and header, which I was having difficulty figuring out.

October 27th, 2022: freeCodeCamp's teaching style is pissing me off. Anyways, today I added a Nyan Cat marquee to this page, a music loop to this page, added the 48x48 socials links (Twitch, Newgrounds, etc.) to the front page sidebar, drew the bubble letter image-links for the front page, masked them with images so they're cooler looking (images inside of each letter - get me?), and updated the forums shrine. I also originally had a blank white background here before today but put a repeating starry-space gif tile. Lastly, I reverse-engineered the falling-star effect that I saw on voupie.lol, which is a site I go to for inspiration in indie web development. He has a tip jar on his front page. Check him out!

October 28th, 2022: Added the NEC PC-98 shrine, with about thirty GIFs, and the "/v/'s Recommended Games Wiki" / Wikipedia memories shrine. Set up the tables with pictures and overall a replication of those massive wiki datatables I used to read through when looking for Dreamcast games and stuff. I want to give the PC-98 page a main window square with a scrollbar, like this page, but haven't yet.

November 10th, 2022: Made a game in Twine, and then started the 90-game challenge page on here, where I challenge myself to make 90 games eventually (even if most are copycats). The idea is that learning will occur, and reverse engineering counts too. Because although copying can be bad, at some point I'll learn something. And all I mean by copying is that I may post a game that I made in a tutorial. But at some point I'll probably get embarassed and take it down anyways. So yeah, I made a page for that here.

January 20th, 2023: I've been learning some more advanced webdev related things. React, PostgreSQL, NodeJS, Figma, stuff like that. I'm currently working on an app contract with a friend. I also haven't really been doing the gamedev stuff. I got RPG Maker MV recently and played around in that and found that pretty cool, though. The game Hylics was made in it, and it makes me want to make something like that, but I'm going to keep working on the webdev stuff for now.

March 5th, 2023: I learned how to create a Linux server with Apache, MySQL, and PHP. And I hosted a webpage on Linode cloud hosting. But Akamai recently bought out Linode and it's going through some big changes, so maybe it's not the best time to use that. Although the LAMP stack did work for setting up a simple page like that, it seems this PHP stack stuff is kind of obsolete. I couldn't find any up-to-date tutorials since these systems date back to the 90s, so I've been switching to ExpressJS and MongoDB as server-side and database frameworks, which are more modern. I presume these will also run on Linux. Full-stack is difficult, it makes me realize these Neocities pages are fun and light by comparison.

Note: The falling stars Javascript seems to be acting as a clickable entity that is blocking what's behind it, so if you can't click the links on the page, here they are. This should work because they only go down so far and after that there's not a thing in front of the links blocking it.

Links

Back to Home

Sadgrl's HTML/CSS template builder

voupie.lol

Cinni's Hellscape (the site with the cool scrolling window layout)